Model of Behavioural Change

Last year, I came across a great little model of behavioural change that features 7 steps.   I’m not sure of the source any more than what I have here – would appreciate it if anyone can enlighten me. I like it due to its simplicity and that it starts with knowledge – this means of course that it misses the precontemplation stage of behaviour change, ie the original state.
behaviour-change-model.jpg

It clearly shows the social role that others play in encouraging, stimulating, facilitating and reinforcing behavioural change.  While the model is simple, actually changing behaviours is not!  It also shows how many government programs aimed at encouraging behaviour change fail as they may concentrate on the front-end (educating or skilling up) but don’t follow through with aspects of social encouragement at the community level.

The model can be reversed to identify areas where behavioural change fails. behaviour-inertia-model.jpg

Each of these stages needs to be overcome as it could block the embedding of behaviour change in individuals, workgroups, organisations and societies.

MORE :  Some other people have blogged on these models include Jack Vinson at Knowledge Jolt and Lauchlan McKinnon who has a great blog on creativity and innovation in organisations.  Lauchlan sources the above diagram to Les Robinson of Social Change Media – thanks Lauchlan.

EVEN MORE:  And thanks Helen for pointing to the website of Les Robinson where you can go for more details of his updated change model.

11 Responses to Model of Behavioural Change

  1. Matt Moore says:

    So this captures many of the points but like many schematics of human behaviour I don’t think they necessarily happen in the order given. It also puts the social/interactive parts first – suggesting that the impetus to change always starts inside individuals and works its way outwards. Not sure that this is true…

  2. Hi Luke,

    1. Great diagrams. What struck me is how much like the Prosci ADKAR model this is – see https://www.purdue.edu/onepurdue/change_management/about_adkar.shtml for a description of ADKAR.

    On the Robinson Model, I went searching for the original source and it appears he has now updated it a bit – see http://media.socialchange.net.au/strategy/7_Doors_Model.html

    2. Can I reuse your diagrams on my blog? I want to talk about your post on my blog (I will link back).

    3. Could you drop me a line to touch base? I would like to invite you to participate in the Standards Australia Futures and Foresights group. I believe someone from Standards Australia (James Thomson?) may have spoken to you previously. See http://knowledgewavz.typepad.com/home/2007/04/foresight_futur.html for details.

    Regards

    Lauchlan Mackinnon

  3. Hi, my name is Goodwill and am studying busines coaching and mentoring. Could you please send me more articles on my emails.

    Thank you

  4. Moses says:

    Hi, I am Moses and am involved with HIV/AIDS and so am trying to understand why it is so difficult for men and women to change behaviour!

    In case of any related articles, kindly forward them to my email.

    Thanks

    Moses

  5. exclusive says:

    exclusive…

    […]Model of Behavioural Change « Knowledge Futures[…]…

  6. […] Quelques mots sur l’importance des croyances ici […]

  7. Helen says:

    Your diagram looks like it comes from Les Robinson, a behaviour change trainer and facilitator in Australia (particularly focused on behaviour change for sustainability) http://www.enablingchange.com.au/
    He is very well respected in Australia, and this model has been applied to many successful sustainability programs.

  8. Whatever truly encouraged u to post “Model of Behavioural Change Knowledge Futures”?
    I personallyseriously enjoyed reading the blog post! Thank you -Gus

  9. Currently it sounds like Movable Type is the top blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  10. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d certainly donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now
    i’ll settle for book-marking aand addding your RSS feed to mmy Gogle account.
    I look forward tto new updates and wiull talk about thios site with mmy Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

